Our crew

We have been very fortunate with the experienced people available locally who have become involved in the Station. We have full and part-time firemen, First Responders (an extremely advanced first-aid qualification),  Yachtmaster Offshore (Shorebased) qualification and VHF certs. We have powerboat instructors, swiftwater rescue instructors, first aid instructors and certified divers. Further details are given below. We are always looking out for new crew, either boat or shore crew or fundraising.

Station Management
Position Name “Day job”
Lifeboat Operations Manager Patsy Fegan Self-employed
Deputy Launching Authority JP English Publican
 Deputy Launching Authority  Michael McCann  IT Consultant
Deputy Launching Authority Michael Canty General Operative
Lifeboat Press Officer/Training Coordinator Jon Mathers Powerboat Instructor
Community Lifesaving Volunteer required!
Lifeboat Medical Advisor Dr. John Murphy G.P.
Lifeboat Treasurer Matt Foley Boatyard manager
Lifeboat Administration Officer Edith Lawlor  Legal Secretary
Boathouse Manager Catherine Levis  Retired
Safety, Health & Environment Local Liason Phil Maguire


Lifeboat Crew
Name Position “Day job”
Mark Bushe Crew Boat building/repair
Denis Cronin Helm Publican/Chef
Geraldine Farrell Shorecrew Care nurse
Sandra Farrell Shorecrew Retail assistant
James Fegan Helm Engineer
Annette Byrne Shorecrew
Norman Jackson Crew Quantity Surveyor
Vince Fleming Helm PVC installation
Warren Forbes Mechanic/Helm F/T fireman
David Venner Crew Civil Engineer
Gary Heslin Shorecrew Retired Fireman
Stephen Hyde Crew Fisherman
Ritchie Kelliher Helm Windscreen fitter
Aidan O’Connor Helm Airport Fire Service
Aengus O’Donovan Shorecrew Fisherman
Daniel O’Donaghue Crew Rib builder
Paddy Quinlan Crew Adventure centre
Cagatay Gunay Shorecrew
Alan Venner Helm/Asst. Mechanic Engineer
Ian Venner Helm Accountant
 Robbie O’Riordan Shorecrew
 Ian O’Keeffe Crew  Irish Naval Service
 Mary O’Riordan Shorecrew
 Dave O’Leary Crew Scaffolder
 Derek Moynan Crew Engineer
 Stephanie Hyde Shorecrew
Aoife Dinan Crew  Beautician
Harry O’Rourke Crew  Deck Officer Cadet
 Cathy Twomey Crew  Hairdresser
 Ciarán O’Connor  Shorecrew
 Rory Egan  Shorecrew

It is also important to remember those crew who have been part of the station in the past, and to reassure them they are always welcome back in the future.

Former Crew
Name Service Record
Finn O’Boyle 2000 – 2002
Ruairi Higgins 2000 – 2003
Paul Brierley 2000 – 2003
John Mulcahy 2002 – 2004
Trudy Hyde 2002 – 2004
Paul Lannin 2000 – 2005
Derry O’Sullivan 2000 – 2004
Hugh Mockler 2000 – 2004
Keith Mackeown 2000 – 2005
Amy Hyde 2000 – 2008
Rosaleen Mackeown 2002 – 2008
Phil Maguire-Hähnel 2002 – 2009
Kevin Higgins 2003 – 2012
Michael Good 2000 – 2011
Tina Bushe 2000 – 2010
Michael Meade 2000 – 2010
Brian Ring TBC – 2014
Marc Groves TBC – 2015
Con Crowley (RIP) TBC – 2015
Christy O’Sullivan (RIP) TBC -2015
David Venner 2000 – 2014
Michael O’Donovan TBC – 2014
Catherine Levis TBC – 2015
Lenny Hyde 2000 – 2015
 Alan Barton 2000 – 2016
Ray Heffernan RIP TBC – 2016
Pat Tanner TBC – TBC
Bernard Lynch TBC – TBC
Jonathan Grey TBC – 2016

No lifeboat can launch without the dedication and effort of the fundraising branches around the country. We have always had a very strong branch in Crosshaven

Fundraising Committee

Name Position
Trudy Austin Secretary
Mark Ginn Treasurer